At the end of the 10 years

On November 29th, 2004, I boarded the plane from Nanning to Hong Kong, then from Hong Kong to Toronto. I immigrated to Canada.

I could not have thought what I would achieve in this 10 years. Back then, I thought I would go to Trent university or Guelph university in canada. I did not know what it would be like to live in a place that snows half of the year, a place where it could get dark at 3:30pm, a place in which people from all around calls home. What I did not know was there was going to be something more than that. Toronto was not going to be the final destination. Instead, it was a start.

I am about to land in the city I will start living in in half a year – New York. I just signed with a financial services company for a full-time position after my MBA graduation. 5 years ago, I would have been dying to get this position. I am glad I am on the right track.

In the past 10 years, I went from never truly been abroad, to travelled to more than 20 different countries, went from a teenage girl who never worked, to a young woman who have worked more than 10 different jobs, went from living in the same city for 17 years to lived in 5 more cities in 3 and a half different countries, went from having no friend from a different ethnicity to having many friends from other cultures, some of them my closest friends, went from barely speaking English to Ivey league graduate (if I graduate…).

I have learned many lessons in the last decade, how to build relationships with different people, how to get through tough times alone, how to support others, how to learn and observe others, how to convince others and lead teams. Those lessons would benefit me for a life time. I am very very fortunate to have many people who have supported me. I was very lonely when I just moved to Toronto. I couldn’t find people to sit with me during high school lunch breaks. I made new friends after a few months. They taught me how to live in Canada as a new immigrant. Many of them live in different cities around the world now, and could not always be by my side.

Recently I have started to slack off. I will get my pace pick up again in the next 10 days. I have many assignments due and it might not be a good idea to sit around. It also started to get colder. Well, another winter is coming.

IMG_2800.JPG

Leave a Reply

