Thank you, life!

20131128-220728.jpg

20131128-220745.jpg

Tonight is the best night of the month. We were taking turns playing Just Dance on Xbox. So much laugh, so much sweat, so much fun! My friends in Houston are truly awesome. Every day I was here, every time I came back, every moment I spent with them, I felt great. Moreover, I was truly me. When I hung out with them, I was 100%. My godmother is the best. She made me feel home every time I come back, not a bit of uneasiness, not a bit of distance, not like a trouble, but an integrated part of the family. I am always fully accepted by her as a person.

The one thing that makes me hanging on to SOM is my classmates. Many of them are truly outstanding – intelligent, authentic and welcoming. Although I have yet to become close to many of them, I am looking forward to getting to know them beyond classroom. A friend in Columbia told me she did not know many classmates beyond her own cohort of 60. In comparison, I had the opportunities to talk to most of my classmates, many not in my cohort. I need to thank them for what they have taught me so far and for what they are about to teach me in the next year and a half.

I am really thankful for having the opportunity to dream, especially the moments I saw people in desperate situations. I saw an old man pushing carts this afternoon in front of a supermarket. I wonder if he had to spend this thanksgiving alone. He’s in his early 60s, slim, wearing a light vest in 40 degree weather. The lot was quite empty. He walked clumsily across. He reminds me of an old mover who used to collect trash, load them onto a huge wooden cart and pull the cart away outside my elementary school. Till this day, I still cannot stand the scenes of elders doing work they should not be doing at their age. I hope I get the opportunity to retire early and start my social enterprise serving the elders.

The thing I lost in the past few months in SOM was the ability to give to society and to frequently interact with people at the bottom of the society. This could be one of the reasons I felt empty and useless sometimes. When I was living in Houston, I was a teacher at women’s shelters at night. One might think of the shelters as depressing places to be. In fact, although the living conditions in those shelter were not the best, the women in there are quite interesting. They had the best jokes on earth; they were blunt as hell; they were quite truthful. No unnecessary table manners, no bribing about fashion brands, no shocks or screams when roaches flew by. I miss teaching them. I miss having the ability to give. Sigh… >< Only if I could throw away those high heels, cosmetics and suits.

I am going to make a wish today. I hope it comes true one day. Happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

